Skip to Content

January 31, 2017: Mr. Pat Oles

President and CEO, Barshop & Oles Company

Pat Oles is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Barshop & Oles Company, a privately held Texas based commercial real estate development, investment and management firm.

Since 1983, the Company and its affiliates have developed, owned or managed more than five million square feet of shopping centers, industrial, office and hotel properties as well as several highly acclaimed master-planned projects in Texas. Prior to forming Barshop & Oles Company, Mr. Oles served on the senior staff of the Governor of Texas William P. Clements, Jr. as Director of Governmental Appointments from 1980-1982.

Mr. Oles has served in leadership roles with numerous governmental, business and civic organizations, including ten years of service on the Board of Directors and as Chairman of the Lower Colorado River Authority and as founding member and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Texas Parks & Wildlife Foundation.

Currently he serves as a member of the Board of Directors of SouthWest Water Company, the Executive Committee of the Seton Fund Board of Trustees, and as Chair of the UT Elementary School Development Council and the Advisory Board of the UT Clements Center. He was a long-standing member of the Advisory Board of Directors of JPMorgan Chase, Chairman of the local chapter of Young Presidents Organization, Chair of the University of Texas System Chancellors Council Executive Committee and Trustee of the Texas Nature Conservancy, among others.

He was educated at the University of Texas Austin, receiving a B.B.A. in Finance. Mr. Oles is the Emmett & Miriam McCoy Excellence Professor in the McCoy College of Business Administration at Texas State University, and serves as a Director of the McCoy College Development Foundation.

A native Texan, Pat is married to the former Julie Donnell Jones of Dallas, an active volunteer and leader in many local and state non-profit organizations. Julie and Pat have three children, Sterling (SMU ’09), Brooke (UT ’10), and Patrick.